Строительные кирпичики жизни

human leg showing how HMB increases protein synthesis and decreases protein breakdown

Белки являются одним из крупнейших компонентов организма после воды и иногда называются «строительными кирпичиками жизни». Белки состоят из множества более мелких единиц, называемых аминокислотами. Некоторые аминокислоты называются «незаменимыми», поскольку человеческий организм не может их синтезировать. Вместо этого они должны быть получены вместе с пищей. Наш организм не хранит отдельные аминокислоты, поэтому необходимо ежедневное потребление аминокислот посредством белков.

В нашем организме постоянно происходит процесс белкового обмена для замены тех белков, которые были повреждены в результате нормального функционирования, старческой атрофии мышц или внешних стресс-факторов, таких как тренировки, активность, болезни или травмы. Для поддержания здорового функционирования организма нам необходимо поддерживать баланс синтеза белка (создание новых белков) и распада белка (высвобождение аминокислот из белка). Если мышечный белок разрушается быстрее, чем синтезируется новый, мы обычно теряем мышечную массу.

Для борьбы с потерей мышечной массы многие люди предпочитают принимать белковые добавки, но не всегда увеличение количества потребляемого белка является наиболее эффективным и действенным решением.

Белковая проблема

Хотя потребление белка помогает при потере мышечной массы, потребление необходимого организму количества белка может оказаться нелегкой задачей. Основополагающие факторы, такие как ваш возраст и качество белка, могут ухудшить способность организма использовать аминокислоты для синтеза белка. Таким образом, потребление белка не является единственным фактором, регулирующим мышечную массу.

Рекомендуемая Институтом медицины суточная норма потребления (РНП) белка для взрослых составляет 0,8 грамма белка на килограмм веса ежедневно.1 Некоторые исследователи выдвинули гипотезу, что рекомендованная Институтом медицины РНП недостаточна для всех взрослых (например, пожилых людей или людей с функциональными ограничениями), и что более высокое потребление белка будет способствовать росту мышц и обеспечит дополнительные преимущества для их здоровья.

Однако многочисленные клинические исследования не подтвердили эту гипотезу, показав отсутствие пользы от потребления белка сверх РНП для мышечной массы, силы и функциональных способностей у людей среднего и пожилого возраста.2 В хорошо контролируемом клиническом исследовании пожилых мужчин (старше 65 лет) с функциональными ограничениями потребление белка сверх РНП (1,3 грамма белка на килограмм веса в день) не увеличило сухую массу тела, мышечную работоспособность, физические функции или самочувствие по сравнению с мужчинами, уже потребляющими РНП белка.3 Аналогичным образом, добавление 30 граммов в день дополнительного белка не улучшило поддержание мышечной массы или физической функции у здоровых пожилых женщин (70-80 лет), которые были обеспечены белком, несмотря на свидетельства ухудшения функций мышц верхних конечностей.4 В мета-анализе 15 исследований, оценивающих влияние белковых и аминокислотных добавок на результаты тренировок с сопротивлением у пожилых людей (старше 60 лет), не было выявлено значительного влияния добавок на мышечную силу, размер мышц, функциональные способности или состав тканей тела.5 Аналогичные результаты были получены у людей среднего возраста (40-64 года)6; увеличение потребления белка выше РНП не привело к улучшению силовых показателей, состава тканей тела и биомаркеров здоровья, вызванных физическими упражнениями.

 

В совокупности эти исследования показывают, что дополнительный белок сам по себе не является диетологическим решением для улучшения здоровья мышц (напр., мышечной массы, физической функции) у людей среднего и пожилого возраста.

Мышцы — это динамичная ткань, которая постоянно разрушается и восстанавливается со скоростью 1-2% каждый день. Продукт MyHMB помогает белку работать более оптимально, активируя ключевые пути синтеза белка и защищая от его избыточного распада. Благодаря такому двойному действию продукт myHMB помогает вашему организму использовать потребляемый белок и аминокислоты, чтобы максимально увеличить пользу для общего здоровья мышц.

Компонент HMB естественным образом вырабатывается в нашем организме в процессе метаболизма незаменимой аминокислоты — лейцина. Лейцин содержится практически во всех белках, но потребление одного только белка для получения эффективного количества компонента HMB не представляется возможным. Только 5% пищевого лейцина преобразуется в компонент HMB в организме. Это означает, что теоретически человеку необходимо потреблять 60 граммов лейцина или около 600 граммов высококачественного белка, чтобы получить доказанное эффективное количество компонента HMB. Прямое потребление такого количества белка или лейцина является сложной, а может даже невозможной задачей.

Простое решение — пищевая добавка myHMB. Прием 3 граммов продукта myHMB в день может помочь поддержать и улучшить общее состояние мышц.

Продукты, содержащие myHMB + белок

Click here to view

Products featuring myHMB + Protein

Big Bold Health HTB Rejuvenate Superfood

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Restore 100% Whey Isolate Protein

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Twilight Micellar Casein Protein

Buy Now

MuscleTech Nitro-Tech Elite

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Plant Protein

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Whey Protein

Buy Now

Ritual Essential Protein

Buy Now

Xymogen FIT Food® Lean Collagen

Buy Now

Have more questions about myHMB? We’ve got answers.

See FAQs

References

  1. Institute of Medicine. Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids. Washington, DC: National Academies Press; 2005.
  2. Mittendorfer B, Klein S, Fontana L. A word of caution against excessive protein intake. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2020;16(1):59-66. doi:10.1038/s41574-019-0274-7
  3. Bhasin S, Apovian CM, Travison TG, et al. Effect of Protein Intake on Lean Body Mass in Functionally Limited Older Men: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Intern Med. 2018;178(4):530-541. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2018.0008
  4. Zhu K, Kerr DA, Meng X, et al. Two-Year Whey Protein Supplementation Did Not Enhance Muscle Mass and Physical Function in Well-Nourished Healthy Older Postmenopausal Women. J Nutr. 2015;145(11):2520-2526. doi:10.3945/jn.115.218297
  5. Thomas DK, Quinn MA, Saunders DH, Greig CA. Protein Supplementation Does Not Significantly Augment the Effects of Resistance Exercise Training in Older Adults: A Systematic Review. J Am Med Dir Assoc. 2016;17(10):959.e1-959.e9599. doi:10.1016/j.jamda.2016.07.002
  6. McKenna CF, Salvador AF, Hughes RL, et al. Higher protein intake during resistance training does not potentiate strength, but modulates gut microbiota, in middle-aged adults: a randomized control trial. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2021;320(5):E900-E913. doi:10.1152/ajpendo.00574.2020
  7. Rittig N, Bach E, Thomsen HH, et al. Anabolic effects of leucine-rich whey protein, carbohydrate, and soy protein with and without β-hydroxy-β-methylbutyrate (HMB) during fasting-induced catabolism: A human randomized crossover trial. Clin Nutr. 2017 Jun;36(3):697-705. doi: 10.1016/j.clnu.2016.05.004.

The Building Blocks of Life

human leg showing how HMB increases protein synthesis and decreases protein breakdown

After water, proteins are one of the largest components of the body and are sometimes called “the building blocks of life”.  Proteins are made up of many smaller units called amino acids. Some amino acids are termed “essential” amino acids because they cannot be produced by the human body.  Instead, they must be acquired through diet.  Our bodies don’t store individual amino acids, thus necessitating a daily consumption of amino acids via proteins.

Our bodies constantly metabolize proteins to replace those that have been damaged through normal function, age-related muscle loss, or by external stressors such as training, activity, illness, or injury.  To maintain healthy bodily function, we need a balance of protein synthesis (making new proteins) and protein breakdown (releasing amino acids from protein).  When muscle protein breaks down faster than new muscle protein is synthesized, we generally lose muscle mass.

To combat muscle loss, protein supplementation is the go-to answer for many, but more protein is not always the most efficient or effective solution.

The Protein Problem

While consuming protein offers support in the fight against muscle loss, it can be an uphill battle to consume the amount your body needs.  Underlying factors such as your age and protein quality can impair the body’s ability to utilize amino acids for protein synthesis.  Thus, protein intake is not the only factor regulating muscle mass.

The Institute of Medicine recommended daily allowance (RDA) of protein for adults is 0.8 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight each day.1 Some researchers have hypothesized that the Institute of Medicine recommended RDA is not sufficient for all adults (for example, older adults or those with functional limitations), and that higher protein intake would promote muscle anabolism and confer additional muscle health benefits.

However, multiple clinical trials have failed to support this hypothesis, showing no benefit of consuming protein in excess of the RDA on muscle mass, strength, function in middle aged and older adults.2  In a well-controlled clinical trial of older men (over the age of 65) with functional limitations, protein intake well over the RDA (1.3 grams of protein per kg of body weight a day) did not increase lean mass, muscle performance, physical function, or well-being among men already consuming the RDA of protein.3  Similarly, adding 30 grams a day of supplemental protein did not improve the maintenance of muscle mass or physical function in healthy older women (70-80 years old) who were protein-replete, despite evidence of deterioration in muscle measurements in the upper limb.4  In a meta-analysis of 15 studies evaluating the effects of protein and amino acid supplementation on resistance exercise training outcomes in older adults (over the age of 60), showed no significant benefit of supplementation on muscle strength, muscle size, functional ability, or body composition.5  Similar results have been observed in middle-aged adults (40–64 years old)6; boosting protein intake above the RDA did not enhance exercise-induced improvements in strength, body composition, or health biomarkers.

Together, these studies highlight that extra protein alone is not the nutritional solution for improving muscle health (ie, muscle mass, physical function) in middle-aged or older adults.

Muscle is a dynamic tissue, continually breaking down and rebuilding itself at a rate of 1-2% each day.  MyHMB helps protein perform more optimally by activating key protein synthesis pathways and protecting against excess protein breakdown.  Through this dual action, myHMB helps your body to utilize the protein and amino acids you consume to help maximize the benefits for overall muscle health.

HMB is produced naturally in our bodies during the metabolism of the essential amino acid leucine.  Leucine is found in virtually all protein, but consuming protein alone to achieve an effective amount of HMB is not feasible.  Only 5% of dietary leucine is converted into HMB in the body.  This means that, in theory, a person would need to consume 60 grams of leucine or approximately 600 grams of high-quality protein to get the proven-effective amount of HMB.  Directly consuming this amount of protein or leucine is a difficult, if not impossible, feat.

The simple solution – supplementing with myHMB.  Taking 3 grams of myHMB per day can help maintain and improve overall muscle health.

Products featuring myHMB + Protein

Big Bold Health HTB Rejuvenate Superfood

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Restore 100% Whey Isolate Protein

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Twilight Micellar Casein Protein

Buy Now

MuscleTech Nitro-Tech Elite

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Plant Protein

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Whey Protein

Buy Now

Ritual Essential Protein

Buy Now

Xymogen FIT Food® Lean Collagen

Buy Now

Have more questions about myHMB? We’ve got answers.

See FAQs

References

  1. Institute of Medicine. Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids. Washington, DC: National Academies Press; 2005.
  2. Mittendorfer B, Klein S, Fontana L. A word of caution against excessive protein intake. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2020;16(1):59-66. doi:10.1038/s41574-019-0274-7
  3. Bhasin S, Apovian CM, Travison TG, et al. Effect of Protein Intake on Lean Body Mass in Functionally Limited Older Men: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Intern Med. 2018;178(4):530-541. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2018.0008
  4. Zhu K, Kerr DA, Meng X, et al. Two-Year Whey Protein Supplementation Did Not Enhance Muscle Mass and Physical Function in Well-Nourished Healthy Older Postmenopausal Women. J Nutr. 2015;145(11):2520-2526. doi:10.3945/jn.115.218297
  5. Thomas DK, Quinn MA, Saunders DH, Greig CA. Protein Supplementation Does Not Significantly Augment the Effects of Resistance Exercise Training in Older Adults: A Systematic Review. J Am Med Dir Assoc. 2016;17(10):959.e1-959.e9599. doi:10.1016/j.jamda.2016.07.002
  6. McKenna CF, Salvador AF, Hughes RL, et al. Higher protein intake during resistance training does not potentiate strength, but modulates gut microbiota, in middle-aged adults: a randomized control trial. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2021;320(5):E900-E913. doi:10.1152/ajpendo.00574.2020
  7. Rittig N, Bach E, Thomsen HH, et al. Anabolic effects of leucine-rich whey protein, carbohydrate, and soy protein with and without β-hydroxy-β-methylbutyrate (HMB) during fasting-induced catabolism: A human randomized crossover trial. Clin Nutr. 2017 Jun;36(3):697-705. doi: 10.1016/j.clnu.2016.05.004.