Die Bausteine des Lebens

human leg showing how HMB increases protein synthesis and decreases protein breakdown

Proteine sind nach Wasser einer der größten Bestandteile des Körpers und werden manchmal als „Bausteine des Lebens“ bezeichnet. Proteine bestehen aus vielen kleineren Einheiten, den so genannten Aminosäuren. Einige Aminosäuren werden als „essentielle“ Aminosäuren bezeichnet, weil sie vom menschlichen Körper nicht selbst hergestellt werden können. Stattdessen müssen sie durch die Ernährung aufgenommen werden. Unser Körper kann einzelne Aminosäuren nicht speichern, so dass eine tägliche Zufuhr von Aminosäuren über Proteine erforderlich ist.

Unser Körper baut ständig Proteine ab, um jene zu ersetzen, die durch die normale Funktion, den altersbedingten Muskelabbau oder durch externe Stressfaktoren wie Training, Aktivität, Krankheit oder Verletzung beschädigt wurden. Um eine gesunde Körperfunktion aufrechtzuerhalten, brauchen wir ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Proteinsynthese (Bildung neuer Proteine) und Proteinabbau (Freisetzung von Aminosäuren aus Proteinen). Wenn Muskelprotein schneller abgebaut wird als neues Muskelprotein synthetisiert wird, verlieren wir in der Regel Muskelmasse.

Um den Muskelabbau zu bekämpfen, ist die Einnahme von Proteinsupplementen für viele die beste Lösung. Doch mehr Protein ist nicht immer die effizienteste oder effektivste Lösung.

Das Proteinproblem

Der Verzehr von Proteinen hilft zwar im Kampf gegen den Muskelabbau, aber es kann ein harter Kampf sein, die vom Körper benötigte Menge zu sich zu nehmen. Grundlegende Faktoren wie Ihr Alter und die Proteinqualität können die Fähigkeit des Körpers beeinträchtigen, Aminosäuren für die Proteinsynthese zu nutzen. Die Proteinzufuhr ist also nicht der einzige Faktor, der die Muskelmasse beeinflusst.

Die vom Institute of Medicine empfohlene Tagesdosis (RDA) an Eiweiß für Erwachsene liegt bei 0,8 Gramm Eiweiß pro Kilogramm Körpergewicht pro Tag.1 Einige Forscher haben die Hypothese aufgestellt, dass die vom Institute of Medicine empfohlene RDA nicht für alle Erwachsenen ausreicht (z. B. für ältere Erwachsene oder Menschen mit funktionellen Einschränkungen) und dass eine höhere Eiweißzufuhr den Muskelaufbau fördern und zusätzliche Vorteile für die Muskelgesundheit bringen würde.

Mehrere klinische Studien konnten diese Hypothese jedoch nicht stützen, da sie keinen Nutzen eines über der RDA liegenden Proteinkonsums für Muskelmasse, Stärke und Funktion bei Erwachsenen mittleren und höheren Alters zeigten.2 In einer gut kontrollierten klinischen Studie mit älteren Männern (über 65 Jahre) mit funktionellen Einschränkungen führte eine deutlich über der RDA liegende Proteinzufuhr (1,3 Gramm Protein pro kg Körpergewicht pro Tag) bei Männern, die bereits die RDA an Protein konsumierten, nicht zu einer Zunahme der Muskelmasse, der Muskelleistung, der körperlichen Funktion oder des Wohlbefindens.3 Auch bei gesunden älteren Frauen (70-80 Jahre), die bereits eiweißreich waren, führte eine zusätzliche Proteinzufuhr von 30 Gramm pro Tag nicht zu einer Verbesserung des Erhalts der Muskelmasse oder der körperlichen Funktion, obwohl es Hinweise auf eine Verschlechterung der Muskelmessungen in den oberen Gliedmaßen gab.4 In einer Meta-Analyse von 15 Studien, die die Auswirkungen einer Supplementierung mit Proteinen und Aminosäuren auf die Ergebnisse des Widerstandstrainings bei älteren Erwachsenen (über 60 Jahre) untersuchten, zeigte sich kein signifikanter Nutzen der Supplementierung für die Muskelkraft, die Muskelgröße, die funktionelle Fähigkeit oder die Körperzusammensetzung.5 Ähnliche Ergebnisse wurden bei Erwachsenen mittleren Alters (40-64 Jahre)6 beobachtet; eine Erhöhung der Proteinzufuhr über die RDA hinaus verbesserte nicht die durch das Training hervorgerufenen Verbesserungen der Stärke, der körperlichen Verfassung oder der gesundheitlichen Biomarker.

Zusammengenommen unterstreichen diese Studien, dass zusätzliches Eiweiß allein nicht die Ernährungslösung für die Verbesserung der Muskelgesundheit (d. h. Muskelmasse, körperliche Funktion) bei Erwachsenen mittleren oder höheren Alters ist.

Die Muskulatur ist ein dynamisches Gewebe, das sich jeden Tag um 1-2 % ab- und wieder aufbaut. MyHMB trägt dazu bei, dass die Proteine optimal funktionieren, indem es wichtige Proteinsynthesewege aktiviert und vor übermäßigem Proteinabbau schützt. Durch diese doppelte Wirkung hilft myHMB Ihrem Körper, die aufgenommenen Proteine und Aminosäuren zu verwerten, um die Vorteile für die allgemeine Muskelgesundheit zu maximieren.

HMB wird auf natürliche Weise in unserem Körper während des Stoffwechsels der essentiellen Aminosäure Leucin gebildet. Leucin ist praktisch in allen Proteinen enthalten, aber der Verzehr von Proteinen allein, um eine wirksame Menge HMB zu erhalten, ist nicht möglich. Nur 5 % des mit der Nahrung aufgenommenen Leucins wird im Körper in HMB umgewandelt. Das bedeutet, dass eine Person theoretisch 60 Gramm Leucin oder etwa 600 Gramm hochwertiges Protein zu sich nehmen müsste, um die nachweislich wirksame Menge an HMB zu erhalten. Der direkte Verzehr dieser Menge an Eiweiß oder Leucin ist ein schwieriges, wenn nicht gar unmögliches Unterfangen.

Die einfache Lösung: Ergänzung durch myHMB. Die Einnahme von 3 Gramm myHMB pro Tag kann zur Erhaltung und Verbesserung der allgemeinen Muskelgesundheit beitragen.

Produkte, die myHMB + Protein enthalten

Click here to view

Products featuring myHMB + Protein

Big Bold Health HTB Rejuvenate Superfood

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Restore 100% Whey Isolate Protein

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Twilight Micellar Casein Protein

Buy Now

MuscleTech Nitro-Tech Elite

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Plant Protein

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Whey Protein

Buy Now

Ritual Essential Protein

Buy Now

Xymogen FIT Food® Lean Collagen

Buy Now

Have more questions about myHMB? We’ve got answers.

See FAQs

References

  1. Institute of Medicine. Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids. Washington, DC: National Academies Press; 2005.
  2. Mittendorfer B, Klein S, Fontana L. A word of caution against excessive protein intake. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2020;16(1):59-66. doi:10.1038/s41574-019-0274-7
  3. Bhasin S, Apovian CM, Travison TG, et al. Effect of Protein Intake on Lean Body Mass in Functionally Limited Older Men: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Intern Med. 2018;178(4):530-541. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2018.0008
  4. Zhu K, Kerr DA, Meng X, et al. Two-Year Whey Protein Supplementation Did Not Enhance Muscle Mass and Physical Function in Well-Nourished Healthy Older Postmenopausal Women. J Nutr. 2015;145(11):2520-2526. doi:10.3945/jn.115.218297
  5. Thomas DK, Quinn MA, Saunders DH, Greig CA. Protein Supplementation Does Not Significantly Augment the Effects of Resistance Exercise Training in Older Adults: A Systematic Review. J Am Med Dir Assoc. 2016;17(10):959.e1-959.e9599. doi:10.1016/j.jamda.2016.07.002
  6. McKenna CF, Salvador AF, Hughes RL, et al. Higher protein intake during resistance training does not potentiate strength, but modulates gut microbiota, in middle-aged adults: a randomized control trial. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2021;320(5):E900-E913. doi:10.1152/ajpendo.00574.2020
  7. Rittig N, Bach E, Thomsen HH, et al. Anabolic effects of leucine-rich whey protein, carbohydrate, and soy protein with and without β-hydroxy-β-methylbutyrate (HMB) during fasting-induced catabolism: A human randomized crossover trial. Clin Nutr. 2017 Jun;36(3):697-705. doi: 10.1016/j.clnu.2016.05.004.

The Building Blocks of Life

human leg showing how HMB increases protein synthesis and decreases protein breakdown

After water, proteins are one of the largest components of the body and are sometimes called “the building blocks of life”.  Proteins are made up of many smaller units called amino acids. Some amino acids are termed “essential” amino acids because they cannot be produced by the human body.  Instead, they must be acquired through diet.  Our bodies don’t store individual amino acids, thus necessitating a daily consumption of amino acids via proteins.

Our bodies constantly metabolize proteins to replace those that have been damaged through normal function, age-related muscle loss, or by external stressors such as training, activity, illness, or injury.  To maintain healthy bodily function, we need a balance of protein synthesis (making new proteins) and protein breakdown (releasing amino acids from protein).  When muscle protein breaks down faster than new muscle protein is synthesized, we generally lose muscle mass.

To combat muscle loss, protein supplementation is the go-to answer for many, but more protein is not always the most efficient or effective solution.

The Protein Problem

While consuming protein offers support in the fight against muscle loss, it can be an uphill battle to consume the amount your body needs.  Underlying factors such as your age and protein quality can impair the body’s ability to utilize amino acids for protein synthesis.  Thus, protein intake is not the only factor regulating muscle mass.

The Institute of Medicine recommended daily allowance (RDA) of protein for adults is 0.8 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight each day.1 Some researchers have hypothesized that the Institute of Medicine recommended RDA is not sufficient for all adults (for example, older adults or those with functional limitations), and that higher protein intake would promote muscle anabolism and confer additional muscle health benefits.

However, multiple clinical trials have failed to support this hypothesis, showing no benefit of consuming protein in excess of the RDA on muscle mass, strength, function in middle aged and older adults.2  In a well-controlled clinical trial of older men (over the age of 65) with functional limitations, protein intake well over the RDA (1.3 grams of protein per kg of body weight a day) did not increase lean mass, muscle performance, physical function, or well-being among men already consuming the RDA of protein.3  Similarly, adding 30 grams a day of supplemental protein did not improve the maintenance of muscle mass or physical function in healthy older women (70-80 years old) who were protein-replete, despite evidence of deterioration in muscle measurements in the upper limb.4  In a meta-analysis of 15 studies evaluating the effects of protein and amino acid supplementation on resistance exercise training outcomes in older adults (over the age of 60), showed no significant benefit of supplementation on muscle strength, muscle size, functional ability, or body composition.5  Similar results have been observed in middle-aged adults (40–64 years old)6; boosting protein intake above the RDA did not enhance exercise-induced improvements in strength, body composition, or health biomarkers.

Together, these studies highlight that extra protein alone is not the nutritional solution for improving muscle health (ie, muscle mass, physical function) in middle-aged or older adults.

Muscle is a dynamic tissue, continually breaking down and rebuilding itself at a rate of 1-2% each day.  MyHMB helps protein perform more optimally by activating key protein synthesis pathways and protecting against excess protein breakdown.  Through this dual action, myHMB helps your body to utilize the protein and amino acids you consume to help maximize the benefits for overall muscle health.

HMB is produced naturally in our bodies during the metabolism of the essential amino acid leucine.  Leucine is found in virtually all protein, but consuming protein alone to achieve an effective amount of HMB is not feasible.  Only 5% of dietary leucine is converted into HMB in the body.  This means that, in theory, a person would need to consume 60 grams of leucine or approximately 600 grams of high-quality protein to get the proven-effective amount of HMB.  Directly consuming this amount of protein or leucine is a difficult, if not impossible, feat.

The simple solution – supplementing with myHMB.  Taking 3 grams of myHMB per day can help maintain and improve overall muscle health.

Products featuring myHMB + Protein

Big Bold Health HTB Rejuvenate Superfood

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Restore 100% Whey Isolate Protein

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Twilight Micellar Casein Protein

Buy Now

MuscleTech Nitro-Tech Elite

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Plant Protein

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Whey Protein

Buy Now

Ritual Essential Protein

Buy Now

Xymogen FIT Food® Lean Collagen

Buy Now

Have more questions about myHMB? We’ve got answers.

See FAQs

References

  1. Institute of Medicine. Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids. Washington, DC: National Academies Press; 2005.
  2. Mittendorfer B, Klein S, Fontana L. A word of caution against excessive protein intake. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2020;16(1):59-66. doi:10.1038/s41574-019-0274-7
  3. Bhasin S, Apovian CM, Travison TG, et al. Effect of Protein Intake on Lean Body Mass in Functionally Limited Older Men: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Intern Med. 2018;178(4):530-541. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2018.0008
  4. Zhu K, Kerr DA, Meng X, et al. Two-Year Whey Protein Supplementation Did Not Enhance Muscle Mass and Physical Function in Well-Nourished Healthy Older Postmenopausal Women. J Nutr. 2015;145(11):2520-2526. doi:10.3945/jn.115.218297
  5. Thomas DK, Quinn MA, Saunders DH, Greig CA. Protein Supplementation Does Not Significantly Augment the Effects of Resistance Exercise Training in Older Adults: A Systematic Review. J Am Med Dir Assoc. 2016;17(10):959.e1-959.e9599. doi:10.1016/j.jamda.2016.07.002
  6. McKenna CF, Salvador AF, Hughes RL, et al. Higher protein intake during resistance training does not potentiate strength, but modulates gut microbiota, in middle-aged adults: a randomized control trial. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2021;320(5):E900-E913. doi:10.1152/ajpendo.00574.2020
  7. Rittig N, Bach E, Thomsen HH, et al. Anabolic effects of leucine-rich whey protein, carbohydrate, and soy protein with and without β-hydroxy-β-methylbutyrate (HMB) during fasting-induced catabolism: A human randomized crossover trial. Clin Nutr. 2017 Jun;36(3):697-705. doi: 10.1016/j.clnu.2016.05.004.