生命基石

human leg showing how HMB increases protein synthesis and decreases protein breakdown

蛋白质是仅次于水份的人体最大组成成分之一,有时被称为“生命基石”。蛋白质由许多被称为氨基酸的更小成分组成。一些氨基酸不能由人体生成,属于“必需”氨基酸。因此,必须通过饮食获得。由于人体本身不储存单个氨基酸,我们必须通过摄入蛋白质补充每天消耗的氨基酸。

人体本身通过不间断的蛋白质代谢补充与执行正常功能、年龄相关的肌肉流失或某些外部压力因素(如体育训练、活动、疾病或外伤)有关的蛋白质损失。为了维持健康的身体机能,蛋白质合成(制造新蛋白质)和蛋白质分解(从蛋白质中释放氨基酸)之间需要达到一种平衡。当肌蛋白分解速度超过新肌蛋白合成速度时,我们的肌肉量通常会减少。

为对抗肌肉流失,许多人直接选择补充蛋白质;但蛋白质并非多多益善,补充蛋白质并不总是最高效或最有效的解决方法。

蛋白质问 题

尽管摄入蛋白质有助于对抗肌肉流失,但摄入量超过身体所需时则可能对机体造成极大挑战。某些因素(诸如年龄和蛋白质质量等)会影响身体利用氨基酸合成蛋白质的能力。因此,摄入蛋白质并非调节肌肉量的唯一因素。

医学机构推荐的成人蛋白质日摄入量(RDA)为每天每公斤体重0.8克1。一些研究人员认为医学机构推荐的RDA对某些成年人(例如老年人或功能受限的人)来说不够充足,而摄入更多的蛋白质会促进肌肉的合成代谢,并对肌肉健康产生额外益处。

但是,多项临床试验并不支持这一假设,其结果显示超过 RDA的蛋白质摄入对中老年人的肌肉量、肌力以及肌功能没有任何好处2。一项针对功能受限老年男性(65岁以上)的临床对照试验中,已经摄入RDA的男性,摄入远超过RDA的蛋白质(每天每公斤体重1.3克)并不能改善其纯肌肉量、肌肉功能、体能以及健康状态3。同样,每天补充30克额外蛋白质对蛋白质摄入充足的健康老年女性(70-80岁)的肌肉量或机体功能的维持并无益处,而有证据表明其上肢肌肉量甚至有所下降4。一篇15项研究的荟萃分析针对蛋白质和氨基酸补充剂对老年人(60岁以上)肌肉对抗训练结果产生的影响进行了评估,结果表明补充剂对肌力、肌肉量、肌肉功能或机体成分没有显著益处5。而在中年组(40-64岁)中也观察到类似结果6;超过RDA的蛋白质摄入对运动带来的肌力、机体成分或健康生物标记物的改善没有加强作用。

总之,这些研究强调,过量蛋白质本身并非一种改善中年或
老年人肌肉健康(即肌肉量、身体机能)的营养方案。

肌肉是一种动态组织,每天以1-2%的速度不断进行分解和重建。MyHMB通过激活关键蛋白质合成通路、防止蛋白质过量分解,帮助蛋白质更好地发挥作用。通过这种双重作用,myHMB可以帮助机体利用所摄入的蛋白质和氨基酸,最大限度地改善整体肌肉 健康。

HMB是亮氨酸(必需氨基酸)在人体代谢过程中产生的一种自然产物。尽管亮氨酸几乎存在于所有蛋白质中,但仅仅通过摄入蛋白质无法获得有效的HMB含量。膳食亮氨酸中只有5%在体内转化为HMB。这意味着,一个人理论上需要摄入60克亮氨酸或者大约600克优质蛋白质才能获得有效的HMB含量。直接摄入如此含量的蛋白质或亮氨酸实属不易(如果可能)。

简单方法–补充myHMB。每天服用3克myHMB,有助于维持和改善整体肌肉健康。

myHMB+蛋白质特色产品

Click here to view

Products featuring myHMB + Protein

Big Bold Health HTB Rejuvenate Superfood

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Restore 100% Whey Isolate Protein

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Twilight Micellar Casein Protein

Buy Now

MuscleTech Nitro-Tech Elite

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Plant Protein

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Whey Protein

Buy Now

Ritual Essential Protein

Buy Now

Xymogen FIT Food® Lean Collagen

Buy Now

Have more questions about myHMB? We’ve got answers.

See FAQs

References

  1. Institute of Medicine. Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids. Washington, DC: National Academies Press; 2005.
  2. Mittendorfer B, Klein S, Fontana L. A word of caution against excessive protein intake. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2020;16(1):59-66. doi:10.1038/s41574-019-0274-7
  3. Bhasin S, Apovian CM, Travison TG, et al. Effect of Protein Intake on Lean Body Mass in Functionally Limited Older Men: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Intern Med. 2018;178(4):530-541. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2018.0008
  4. Zhu K, Kerr DA, Meng X, et al. Two-Year Whey Protein Supplementation Did Not Enhance Muscle Mass and Physical Function in Well-Nourished Healthy Older Postmenopausal Women. J Nutr. 2015;145(11):2520-2526. doi:10.3945/jn.115.218297
  5. Thomas DK, Quinn MA, Saunders DH, Greig CA. Protein Supplementation Does Not Significantly Augment the Effects of Resistance Exercise Training in Older Adults: A Systematic Review. J Am Med Dir Assoc. 2016;17(10):959.e1-959.e9599. doi:10.1016/j.jamda.2016.07.002
  6. McKenna CF, Salvador AF, Hughes RL, et al. Higher protein intake during resistance training does not potentiate strength, but modulates gut microbiota, in middle-aged adults: a randomized control trial. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2021;320(5):E900-E913. doi:10.1152/ajpendo.00574.2020
  7. Rittig N, Bach E, Thomsen HH, et al. Anabolic effects of leucine-rich whey protein, carbohydrate, and soy protein with and without β-hydroxy-β-methylbutyrate (HMB) during fasting-induced catabolism: A human randomized crossover trial. Clin Nutr. 2017 Jun;36(3):697-705. doi: 10.1016/j.clnu.2016.05.004.

The Building Blocks of Life

human leg showing how HMB increases protein synthesis and decreases protein breakdown

After water, proteins are one of the largest components of the body and are sometimes called “the building blocks of life”.  Proteins are made up of many smaller units called amino acids. Some amino acids are termed “essential” amino acids because they cannot be produced by the human body.  Instead, they must be acquired through diet.  Our bodies don’t store individual amino acids, thus necessitating a daily consumption of amino acids via proteins.

Our bodies constantly metabolize proteins to replace those that have been damaged through normal function, age-related muscle loss, or by external stressors such as training, activity, illness, or injury.  To maintain healthy bodily function, we need a balance of protein synthesis (making new proteins) and protein breakdown (releasing amino acids from protein).  When muscle protein breaks down faster than new muscle protein is synthesized, we generally lose muscle mass.

To combat muscle loss, protein supplementation is the go-to answer for many, but more protein is not always the most efficient or effective solution.

The Protein Problem

While consuming protein offers support in the fight against muscle loss, it can be an uphill battle to consume the amount your body needs.  Underlying factors such as your age and protein quality can impair the body’s ability to utilize amino acids for protein synthesis.  Thus, protein intake is not the only factor regulating muscle mass.

The Institute of Medicine recommended daily allowance (RDA) of protein for adults is 0.8 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight each day.1 Some researchers have hypothesized that the Institute of Medicine recommended RDA is not sufficient for all adults (for example, older adults or those with functional limitations), and that higher protein intake would promote muscle anabolism and confer additional muscle health benefits.

However, multiple clinical trials have failed to support this hypothesis, showing no benefit of consuming protein in excess of the RDA on muscle mass, strength, function in middle aged and older adults.2  In a well-controlled clinical trial of older men (over the age of 65) with functional limitations, protein intake well over the RDA (1.3 grams of protein per kg of body weight a day) did not increase lean mass, muscle performance, physical function, or well-being among men already consuming the RDA of protein.3  Similarly, adding 30 grams a day of supplemental protein did not improve the maintenance of muscle mass or physical function in healthy older women (70-80 years old) who were protein-replete, despite evidence of deterioration in muscle measurements in the upper limb.4  In a meta-analysis of 15 studies evaluating the effects of protein and amino acid supplementation on resistance exercise training outcomes in older adults (over the age of 60), showed no significant benefit of supplementation on muscle strength, muscle size, functional ability, or body composition.5  Similar results have been observed in middle-aged adults (40–64 years old)6; boosting protein intake above the RDA did not enhance exercise-induced improvements in strength, body composition, or health biomarkers.

Together, these studies highlight that extra protein alone is not the nutritional solution for improving muscle health (ie, muscle mass, physical function) in middle-aged or older adults.

Muscle is a dynamic tissue, continually breaking down and rebuilding itself at a rate of 1-2% each day.  MyHMB helps protein perform more optimally by activating key protein synthesis pathways and protecting against excess protein breakdown.  Through this dual action, myHMB helps your body to utilize the protein and amino acids you consume to help maximize the benefits for overall muscle health.

HMB is produced naturally in our bodies during the metabolism of the essential amino acid leucine.  Leucine is found in virtually all protein, but consuming protein alone to achieve an effective amount of HMB is not feasible.  Only 5% of dietary leucine is converted into HMB in the body.  This means that, in theory, a person would need to consume 60 grams of leucine or approximately 600 grams of high-quality protein to get the proven-effective amount of HMB.  Directly consuming this amount of protein or leucine is a difficult, if not impossible, feat.

The simple solution – supplementing with myHMB.  Taking 3 grams of myHMB per day can help maintain and improve overall muscle health.

Products featuring myHMB + Protein

Big Bold Health HTB Rejuvenate Superfood

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Restore 100% Whey Isolate Protein

Buy Now

Incarnate Nutrition Twilight Micellar Casein Protein

Buy Now

MuscleTech Nitro-Tech Elite

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Plant Protein

Buy Now

Power Life by Tony Horton High Impact Whey Protein

Buy Now

Ritual Essential Protein

Buy Now

Xymogen FIT Food® Lean Collagen

Buy Now

Have more questions about myHMB? We’ve got answers.

See FAQs

References

  1. Institute of Medicine. Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids. Washington, DC: National Academies Press; 2005.
  2. Mittendorfer B, Klein S, Fontana L. A word of caution against excessive protein intake. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2020;16(1):59-66. doi:10.1038/s41574-019-0274-7
  3. Bhasin S, Apovian CM, Travison TG, et al. Effect of Protein Intake on Lean Body Mass in Functionally Limited Older Men: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Intern Med. 2018;178(4):530-541. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2018.0008
  4. Zhu K, Kerr DA, Meng X, et al. Two-Year Whey Protein Supplementation Did Not Enhance Muscle Mass and Physical Function in Well-Nourished Healthy Older Postmenopausal Women. J Nutr. 2015;145(11):2520-2526. doi:10.3945/jn.115.218297
  5. Thomas DK, Quinn MA, Saunders DH, Greig CA. Protein Supplementation Does Not Significantly Augment the Effects of Resistance Exercise Training in Older Adults: A Systematic Review. J Am Med Dir Assoc. 2016;17(10):959.e1-959.e9599. doi:10.1016/j.jamda.2016.07.002
  6. McKenna CF, Salvador AF, Hughes RL, et al. Higher protein intake during resistance training does not potentiate strength, but modulates gut microbiota, in middle-aged adults: a randomized control trial. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2021;320(5):E900-E913. doi:10.1152/ajpendo.00574.2020
  7. Rittig N, Bach E, Thomsen HH, et al. Anabolic effects of leucine-rich whey protein, carbohydrate, and soy protein with and without β-hydroxy-β-methylbutyrate (HMB) during fasting-induced catabolism: A human randomized crossover trial. Clin Nutr. 2017 Jun;36(3):697-705. doi: 10.1016/j.clnu.2016.05.004.